JUDGING process 2023

“I was delighted to be one of the judges for the 2022 Leading Light Awards, albeit it was not an easy job due to the incredible entries we received! The Awards focus a spotlight on the fantastic work taking place across the construction industry to improve our communities, environment and workforces. “

Vicki Palmer, Senior CSR & Early Careers Manager at Hollis – Judge, Leading Lights Awards 2022

Judging process

All submissions undergo a rigorous evaluation and selection process and are checked against the eligibility requirements before being assigned to an independent judging panel of industry professionals. Submissions will be judged based on all the information and the supporting evidence that has been provided.

Submissions in each category are judged by type (Individual, Site, Ultra Site, Organisation). Among them, Site, Ultra Site and Organisation Awards submissions will be grouped and judged by bandings based on the project or site’s value and the organisation’s turnover.

Winners will be contacted from September 2023 with more details about the next steps including the Awards ceremony, where winners will be recognised as Leading Lights among peers in the construction industry.

Tickets for the ceremony will be made available after the judging process concludes.

Scroll down to learn more about the judging panel for this edition of the Awards.

2023 leading lights awards Judges

Chris Selby

Head of Marketing, Communication and External Affairs, Cross-Industry Construction Apprenticeship Task Force

Sarah Kenny

Sales & Marketing Manager, Construction Industry Publications Ltd

Simon Hamlyn

Chief Executive Officer, Chartered Institution of Civil Engineering Surveyors (CICES)

Ruth Scarrott

Head of Careers, National Federation of Roofing Contractors (NFRC)

Peter Keates

Executive Director, Local Authority Building Control (LABC)


If you have any queries, questions, or feedback please contact us by email at or call 0800 783 1423.
Sign up to receive news and updates from the Leading Lights Awards team here.