Coming soon…! National Site Awards start on 9 April

Top-performing UK and Irish construction sites are getting ready to be recognised for their outstanding commitment to considerate construction at the upcoming Scheme’s 2018 National Site Awards.

The prestigious National Site Awards are highly-revered across the entire industry, and will be held from Monday 9 April to Friday 27 April at venues in Edinburgh, London and Manchester.

The first of the 12 ceremonies will take place at The Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh, followed by three dates at The Lowry Hotel in Manchester before culminating with the final eight days at Plaisterers’ Hall in the City of London.

More than 3000 guests from construction sites of all different sizes are expected to celebrate, as the Scheme presents more than 800 awards to registered sites that have demonstrated the very highest standards of consideration towards the public, environment and their workforce.

Commenting on the upcoming awards, Scheme Chief Executive Edward Hardy said:

The growth of the National Site Awards year-on-year reflects the expansion of the construction industry’s commitment to raise standards in considerate construction across an ever increasing number of sites throughout the UK and Ireland.

This year’s award-winning sites have all demonstrated a relentless commitment to help improve the image of our industry. They have taken this commitment to new levels and we look forward to recognising their success at the upcoming 2018 National Site Awards.

Awards have been categorised into project value bands so that all eligible sites have been reviewed against others of similar size. This year’s bandings are: Under £500k, £500k to <£1m, £1m to <£5m, £5m to <£10m, £10m to <£50m and £50m and over.

A number of high profile industry leading figures will be presenting the UK’s finest construction sites with either Bronze, Silver or Gold Awards. One Gold Award winner from each value banding will receive the prestigious title of Most Considerate Site, while those shortlisted will receive Runner-up Awards.

This year’s presenters are:

  • Nick Baveystock, Director General – Institution of Civil Engineers
  • Jean DuPrez MBE, Director – Women into Construction
  • Paul Everall, Chief Executive – Local Authority Building Control (LABC)
  • Dr David Hancock, Head of Construction – Government Construction Team, The Cabinet Office
  • Professor Peter Hansford FREng – University College London
  • Stewart Henderson, President – The Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS)
  • Bill Hill, CEO – Lighthouse Construction Industry Charity
  • Tom Parlon, Director General – Construction Industry Federation
  • Sir Terry Morgan CBE, Chairman of Crossrail – Highways Infrastructure
  • Clare Watson, National Chair – National Federation of Builders (NFB)
  • Helen Wollaston, Chief Executive – Women into Science and Engineering (WISE)

All registered sites or phases that completed in 2017 were eligible for a 2018 award. All award-winning sites for this year have been contacted by the Scheme.

Follow the Scheme on Twitter and Instagram, and remember to use #ccsawards #loveconstruction in all of your communication to join the awards conversation!