Team BlueSteel win Teambuild 2015


With a brief dominated by infrastructure-investment and SMARTcities innovation, the 2015 Teambuild Finalists were challenged to their limits.

The result was a series of outstanding proposals from 11 inspiring teams, demonstrating true excellence in communication: and finally, triumph for ‘BlueSteel’, a team from Hawkins\Brown, Arup, Price & Myers, Max Fordham, Balfour Beatty and Sir Robert McAlpine.

That winning team, excelling against a strong field, was formed of individuals from companies across the spectrum of the construction industry. All aged under 30, and majority-female, they demonstrated excellent team-working and collaboration skills. Their proposals put the feedback loop in the foreground of their design and procurement ambitions, using digital technology to harness data in use, and enable an evolving, ever-more efficient, operational asset, based around local identity and local employment. The team were awarded a cash prize of £2000, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Constructors.

Teambuild 2015 challenged teams to plan, design and present hypothetical proposals based around ‘Edinburgh Gateway’- the complex infrastructure interchange at Gogar, west of Edinburgh, connecting road, tram, rail and air transport. The base project information was provided by the real site team for the new interchange: WSP|PB allowed competitors viewing access to the federated project BIM model through Autodesk’s BIMglue software. A further level of challenge was provided by asking teams to engage with the SMARTcities concept, and make intelligent data management and IT a key driver in developing their schemes.

teambuild 1
teambuild 2

Eleven teams, representing twenty-four top construction industry companies, made it through to the hotly-contested finals, and impressed throughout with their professionalism, enthusiasm and dedication. Their performance was evaluated by fourteen senior industry figures, each representing a construction institution. This year the panel included George Adams (PP CIBSE), Peter Murray (Master of the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects, and Chair of NLA), Patricia Newton (PM Worshipful Company of Constructors), and John Brennan (FCIOB, past winner of CMYA).

The diversity of the judging panel was reflected in the institutional membership and employers of members of the winning team: Laura Purton (ICE, Sir Robert McAlpine / ARUP); Alex Moffatt (ICE, Balfour Beatty); Kate Keightley-Smith (RIBA, Hawkins\Brown); Harriet Lilley (CIBSE, Max Fordham); and Carmel Lennon (ICE, Price & Myers).

The Considerate Constructors Scheme (CCS) sponsored a prize for Excellence in Construction. This prize of £1000 was awarded to Ekistics, a team from BDP, comprising team member from RIBA, ICE, CIBSE and LI. CCS Ambassador and Monitor, John Sayers, presented the award for proposing ‘HALO’, an outstanding innovation for construction sites, improving reporting and safety through mobile data capture.

John Sayers commented:

It was a delight to see such enthusiasm and passion for the industry from each team. Every participant understood the value of teamwork and, over the course of the two days, gained a number of essential skills. On behalf of the Scheme, I would like to congratulate the winners and thank each team for taking part.

CCSPrize Ekistics TB2015
John Sayers, second from right, with team Ekistics

The Procurement Strategy Prize of £1,250, awarded by the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects, was awarded by Master Peter Murray to Hestia a team from Hawkins\Brown, Eckersley O’Callaghan, Curtins, Arup and Core Five, which included members of the ICE, CIOB, IHT, APM and CIAT.

The Winners of the Judges Prize of £1,250, awarded for the team which showed the greatest improvement over the weekend were Vokse, a team from BuroHappold Engineering and Hawkins\Brown,including members fromIStructE, CIBSE, ARB, IMechE and ICE.

Teambuild is a registered Charity, providing education and training in the construction industry. This endeavour has been supported for three years by the LCCI Commercial Education Trust, who this year awarded an individual prize for Leadership.  The prize of £500 was awarded to Sarah Dean, a Civil Engineer from AECOM.

The objectives of Teambuild focus on developing skills in leadership, communication and coordination beyond the sum of the of the individual’s skill. The competition helps identify the way teams must work together in the construction industry by challenging them with scenarios common to construction projects across the UK.

The overall standard of the event was extremely high, and all eleven finalist teams should be congratulated on an immense achievement. Further details of each of the finalist teams is published on Teambuild’s website.

Teambuild is an annual competition held in November of each year. Entries for the 2016 competition will open in June.

For more information on Teambuild, click here